Linton Brook Farm
Linton Brook Farm
Property Address: Linton Brook Farm, Bringsty, Bromyard, WR6 5TR
Property Type: B&B
Price Range: £35 - £45
Property Images :
Property Description :
Owner: Roger And Sheila Steeds
Dating back some 400 years, this large house has a wealth of character and has been renovated to provide modern comforts. Accommodation is spacious and there is a comfortable sitting room with a welcoming wood-burning stove. The breakfast room has exposed beams, antique furniture and an inglenook fireplace.
Property Location :
Things to see and do in Herefordshire :
Visit Hereford's famous Cider Museum and learn about the history of cider making - how the apples were milled and pressed and how the resulting juice was fermented to produce cider.
Courtyard Centre for the Arts
The Courtyard is now 10 years old and has evolved and developed into a well established and highly regarded, vibrant arts centre serving the whole of Herefordshire and the surrounding region. The Courtyard also hosts regular twice-monthly sell-out comedy and monthly folk clubs, hosts exhibitions by local, national and international artists and has developed a wide ranging film programme to add further to it’s role as the principal cultural provider for Herefordshire. The Courtyard has also established a wide-ranging participatory programme.
The development of "the castle" from a fortified site into a home and administrative centre can approximately be dated to the period between 1160 and 1270. Castles of this period often incorporated earlier motte and bailey sites into this new role, and this could create spatial problems - many early motte and bailey sites were relatively small, being intended for use as purely military sites, and could not contain all of the necessary facilities required for this new role.
This beautiful historic house in Much Marcle, Herefordshire, is a living monument to much of England’s history. It remains a home and not a museum although it contains a wealth of period furnishings, paintings and decorations. In 1096 the Manor was granted to the de Balun family who witnessed the signing of the Magna Carta by King John. Thereafter by marriage,deed or gift it passed through the powerful Mortimer family to the Lords Audleys by 1301, who were created Earls of Gloucester in 1337.
Hereford Cathedral's main role is as a centre of Christian mission and the seat of the Bishop. Each day, three acts of worship take place which ensure that the life of prayer which gives energy to Christian mission is carried on. The Bishop of Hereford's throne near the high altar gives the Cathedral church its name; the Latin word for throne is cathedra. The Bishop is chief pastor of a large diocese stretching from the Welsh borders in the west across to Worcester and Gloucestershire in the east, and from just south of Shrewsbury in the north to Monmouth in the south.
Hereford Mappa Mundi
The Mappa Mundi is unique in Britain's heritage - an outstanding treasure of the medieval age which reveals how 13th century scholars interpreted the world in spiritual and geographical terms. The map is undated but bears the name of "Richard de Haldingham e de Lafford", whom some historians have identified as Richard de Bello, Prebendary of Lafford in the diocese of Lincoln during the late 13th century. Together with evidence interpreted from the content of the map, a date of around AD 1290 is considered reliable.
Hereford Museum and Art Gallery
Hereford Museum and Art Gallery, housed in a spectacular Victorian gothic building, has been exhibiting artefacts and works of fine and decorative art connected with the local area since 1874. Although the exterior of the building has changed very little the museum and gallery have kept up with the times. The exhibitions begin in the foyer of the building with a regularly changing small display in the foyer case. Don't miss the Kenchester mosaic on your way upstairs and the changing art exhibitions on the stairwell walls. The museum is full of interesting local history with hands-on elements for all the family.
Herefordshire Light Infantry Museum
A small collection of objects associated with the regiments raised in Herefordshire dating from the Volunteers of the Napoleonic period.
The Old House
The Old House is a remarkably well preserved example of a 17th Century timber-framed building and is situated in the heart of Hereford, surrounded by the commercial centre of the city. It is a startling sight, standing as the sole reminder of times-gone-by in the middle of a modern shopping precinct. Built in 1621, the house has been used for many purposes over the years, starting life as a butcher's home and shop and finishing its commercial life in the hands of Lloyds Bank in the late 1920s. Since 1929 it has been a fascinating museum giving an insight into daily life in Jacobean times.